Bien

En 1971, j'ai entrepris une croisière orageuse en novembre de Vancouver, vers le nord jusqu'à une île aride isolée appelée Amchitka dans l'archipel aléoutien de l'Alaska.

Par le capitaine Paul Watson, fondateur – Sea Shepherd 1977.

Le navire s'appelait le Greenpeace aussi et notre objectif était d'arrêter une bombe. Pas n'importe quelle bombe, mais une bombe nucléaire de cinq mégatonnes enfouie sous l'île, un essai par les États-Unis d'une arme de destruction massive insensée, un essai de plus dans une série d'essais qui avaient déjà tué des milliers de phoques, de loutres de mer et de poissons des ondes de choc.

Nous n'avons pas réussi à arrêter ce test, mais à la suite de notre intervention, tous les autres tests souterrains dans les Aléoutiennes ont été interdits et en 1972, je suis devenu directeur fondateur de la Fondation Greenpeace.

En 1974, Robert Hunter, le Dr Paul Spong et moi avons lancé les campagnes de Greenpeace pour protéger les baleines et en 1975 et 1976 nous avons affronté la flotte baleinière soviétique dans le Pacifique Nord. En 1976 et 1977, David Garrick et moi avons lancé les campagnes de Greenpeace pour protéger les phoques du Groenland et à capuchon au large de la côte est du Canada.

C'est en 1975, lorsqu'un cachalot blessé m'a épargné la vie, que je me suis engagé à jamais dans la cause de la défense des baleines et des dauphins et que je me suis juré d'éradiquer le mal de la chasse à la baleine de mon vivant.

C'était en 1977 lorsque, pour sauver la vie d'un bébé phoque du Groenland, j'ai retiré un gourdin des mains d'un phoque terre-neuvien, je l'ai jeté à la mer et j'ai emporté le bébé phoque loin de l'homme qui voulait le tuer. Pour ce seul acte, le conseil d'administration de Greenpeace m'a rejeté du conseil d'administration de Greenpeace, m'accusant de vol (le club des chasseurs de phoques) et de vandalisme (le jeter à la mer). Ils ont dit que je devais m'excuser auprès du chasseur. J'ai répondu que c'était quelque chose que je ne pouvais pas faire et que si la situation se reproduisait, je ferais exactement la même chose.

En réponse à mon licenciement, j'ai créé la Sea Shepherd Conservation Society avec la stratégie de la non-violence agressive. J'avais l'intention d'intervenir, d'entraver, de harceler et de saboter les baleiniers, les chasseurs de phoque, les opérations de pêche, les braconniers de tortues et les nageoires de requins illégaux.

Je considérais mon renvoi de Greenpeace comme l'une des meilleures choses qui me soient jamais arrivées. Sans cela, je n'aurais pas créé Sea Shepherd.

En 1979, j'ai traqué le baleinier pirate Sierra, a percuté et désarmé le navire et après réparations, nous l'avons coulé dans le port de Lisbonne. En 1986, nous avons coulé la moitié de la flotte baleinière islandaise et mis fin à leurs opérations illégales pendant 17 ans.

C'est le genre d'actions pour lesquelles j'ai créé Sea Shepherd, et c'est ce que nous avons continué à faire jusqu'en 2013, notamment en chassant la flotte baleinière japonaise du sanctuaire baleinier de l'océan Austral.

En 2012, j'ai été détenu en Allemagne suite à une demande d'extradition du Costa Rica pour être intervenu contre une opération illégale de finning de requins au Costa Rica. Mon intervention avait été demandée par le gouvernement du Guatemala. J'ai été arrêté deux fois au Costa Rica, d'abord pour tentative d'homicide, puis pour tentative d'agression contre la parole des pêcheurs. Deux fois, les charges ont été abandonnées après que le tribunal a examiné les preuves filmées de la rencontre filmée par Rob Stewart pour son documentaire Eau de requin. J'ai reçu l'autorisation de quitter le Costa Rica, mais dix ans plus tard, j'ai été arrêté en Allemagne en 2012 à la suite d'une demande d'extradition du Costa Rica pour « mise en danger due à un naufrage ».

Alors que j'étais détenu en Allemagne, le Japon a déposé une demande d'extradition pour complot d'intrusion sur un baleinier et cela m'a obligé à fuir l'Allemagne sans papiers, à traverser l'Atlantique Nord, à traverser l'Amérique du Nord pour rejoindre l'un de nos navires pour un voyage vers les Samoa américaines. où j'ai remonté à bord de mon navire amiral le Steve Irwin pour affronter une fois de plus la flotte baleinière japonaise dans l'océan Austral.

En réponse à ma libération sous caution en Allemagne, le Japon a émis une notice rouge d'Interpol contre moi. La notice rouge est utilisée pour arrêter les tueurs en série, les grands trafiquants de drogue et les criminels de guerre. Il n'y a jamais eu d'avis rouge émis pour intrusion jusqu'à mon cas. Le Costa Rica a suivi avec une notice rouge émise contre moi pour mise en danger de naufrage.

Cela m'a forcé à m'exiler dans le Pacifique Sud pendant 10 mois jusqu'à ce que je sois autorisé à retourner aux États-Unis par le secrétaire d'État John Kerry.

La notice rouge japonaise était basée sur un accord de plaidoyer de Pete Bethune dont le navire le Ady Gil a été coupé en deux par un harponneur japonais en 2010. Bethune avait été accusé d'intrusion. Il a conclu un accord avec le procureur japonais selon lequel s'il m'accusait de lui avoir ordonné de monter à bord du navire, il lui donnerait une peine avec sursis en échange de l'accusation de complot en vue d'une intrusion.

Cela a créé une crise au sein de Sea Shepherd lorsque le conseil d'administration de l'époque a eu peur d'être poursuivi par le Japon et a voté pour m'interdire de revenir dans mon conseil d'administration.

En réponse à cela, l'un de nos partisans, un promoteur immobilier de Floride nommé Pritam Singh, est venu à mon aide et a aidé à destituer les administrateurs qui s'opposaient à moi. Alex Cornelissen a également organisé Sea Shepherd Global, et Sea Shepherd est devenu un mouvement avec des entités distinctes dans de nombreux pays.

Pritam Singh m'a également aidé à obtenir la permission de retourner aux États-Unis sans crainte d'extradition vers le Japon. Singh a réussi à obtenir un affidavit de Pete Bethune où Bethune a déclaré qu'il avait menti sur le fait que je lui avais ordonné de monter à bord du navire harpon en échange de la peine avec sursis. Cela a conduit le secrétaire d'État John Kerry à m'autoriser à retourner aux États-Unis. Le Japon a cependant refusé d'abandonner l'accusation.

En tant que tel, j'étais reconnaissant et reconnaissant de son aide. J'ai supposé à tort que je pouvais lui faire confiance et, naïvement, je n'ai pas remarqué qu'il jouait le long jeu de me marginaliser et de nommer les siens au conseil d'administration.

J'ai été PDG de Sea Shepherd USA de 2016 à 2019. Pendant cette période, j'ai lancé la campagne de protection du marsouin Vaquita au Mexique appelée Operation Milagro. J'ai également lancé les opérations Virus Hunter pour lutter contre les salmonicultures au Canada, l'opération Jairo pour protéger les tortues marines, l'opération Treasured Islands pour protéger les îles Cocos et Malpelo et les Galapagos, l'opération Good Pirates of the Caribbean pour aider les îles des Caraïbes après les ouragans, l'opération Marachopa pour arrêter la pêche illégale au large du Pérou et Operation Clean Waves pour restaurer les récifs coralliens et collecter du plastique à Kiribati. J'avais des capitaines excellents et fiables avec Oona Layolle, Patricia Gabdolfo Castinera et Locky MacLean et nous avions des membres d'équipage courageux qui travaillaient dur.

En 2017, Pritam Singh a rejoint le conseil d'administration américain de Sea Shepherd et ses compétences en affaires ont été très utiles. En 2019, Pritam Singh m'a informé que le conseil d'administration ne pouvait pas obtenir d'assurance d'administrateur en raison de mon statut de notice rouge. Il a demandé que je démissionne officiellement du conseil d'administration mais que je puisse toujours participer aux réunions. Il a dit que je pouvais lui faire confiance et que si jamais il faisait quoi que ce soit avec lequel je n'étais pas d'accord, tout ce que j'aurais à faire était de demander sa démission.

J'ai soutenu que le Costa Rica avait abandonné sa notice rouge contre moi, mais Singh a soutenu que la notice rouge japonaise posait toujours un problème. J'ai dit que je n'avais pas besoin d'assurance juridique et Singh a répliqué en disant que ma présence au conseil serait toujours une menace pour tous les autres administrateurs.

Alors assez naïvement, j'ai accepté. Ma démission a été suivie du licenciement de personnes importantes pour moi, comme deux capitaines de Sea Shepherd et mon propre assistant personnel. Lorsque j'ai protesté, j'ai été informé que le conseil d'administration avait voté le retrait de ces personnes et que je ne pouvais rien y faire.

Le renvoi du capitaine Locky MacLean était illogique. Le 25 octobreth, 2019, il venait de négocier et de signer un Convenio avec le Semarnat et le Profepa (bureau du procureur fédéral de l'environnement) du Mexique qui donnaient à Sea Shepherd le mandat de collecter des filets à l'intérieur de la zone de tolérance zéro du Refuge Vaquita.

Le licenciement de mon assistant Omar Todd a également été mystifiant. Omar venait de négocier une contribution d'un million de dollars à Sea Shepherd mais au lieu de le remercier, ils l'ont accusé de ne pas passer par les canaux appropriés pour obtenir le don.

En 2019, Pritam Singh a embauché le directeur mondial de Sea Shepherd, Alex Cornelissen, pour être le PDG de Sea Shepherd US. Il a également embauché Peter Hammerstedt pour être directeur des campagnes.

Je pensais que c'était une bonne chose. Je faisais confiance à ces deux hommes et je me sentais à l'aise même si Peter Hammerstedt remplaçait le capitaine MacLean en tant que directeur des navires et des campagnes. Peter n'était pas un directeur pratique sur le terrain.

Le 31 décembre 2020, lors d'un affrontement dans la mer mexicaine de Cortez, un panga attaquant avec deux pêcheurs lançant des cocktails Molotov est entré en collision avec le navire de Sea Shepherd Farley-Mowat. Un des pêcheurs a été tué.

La faute en était aux deux pêcheurs mais depuis 44 ans, pas une seule personne n'avait été blessée lors d'une campagne de Sea Shepherd. Moins d'un an après mon remplacement, nous avons vu la première victime.

Pritam Singh a alors renégocié l'accord que le capitaine Locky MacLean avait signé avec le Mexique. Le nouvel accord interdisait à Sea Shepherd de tirer des filets dans le Refuge Vaquita.

Je suis devenu encore plus inquiet lorsque je suis arrivé à une réunion pour discuter des campagnes au début de 2022. Peter Hammerstedt est sorti de la pièce avant que je puisse entrer et m'a demandé de ne pas entrer avant qu'ils aient fini d'avoir une réunion Zoom avec des représentants du gouvernement américain. Quand j'ai demandé pourquoi, Peter m'a dit que si les gens du gouvernement me voyaient, cela aurait des conséquences négatives pour les partenariats gouvernementaux. Lorsque j'ai été autorisé à participer à la réunion, celle-ci devait être présentée à de nouveaux membres du personnel pour gérer les communications, la sensibilisation et la gestion des navires, dont aucun n'avait d'expérience avec Sea Shepherd.

On m'a également dit que je ne pouvais pas faire d'interviews avec les médias sans l'approbation du nouveau directeur des communications et que tous mes messages sur les réseaux sociaux devaient être approuvés avant d'être publiés.

Les capitaines et l'équipage de Sea Shepherd ont reçu l'ordre de ne pas communiquer avec moi.

En avril 2022, Peter et Alex ont démissionné de leurs fonctions pour protester contre la micro-gestion par Pritam Singh. Ils m'ont tous les deux dit qu'ils ne pouvaient pas travailler avec Pritam Singh et qu'ils ne travailleraient plus jamais avec lui. Cela a été suivi par la démission de Farrah Smith, notre directrice du développement, qui a également cité la micro-gestion.

Le conseil prenait des décisions à mon insu ou à mon insu, y compris la vente de notre navire le Brigitte Bardot et la démolition de nos navires John Paul De Joria, Sharpie et Houx blanc.

En juin 2022, j'ai fait part de mes préoccupations au conseil d'administration, un conseil qui comprenait désormais des personnes triées sur le volet pour soutenir Pritam Singh et s'opposer à moi. Il n'y avait que deux réalisateurs qui m'ont soutenu.

Lors de la réunion de juin, Pritam Singh a annoncé que Sea Shepherd changerait de cap et ne serait plus impliqué dans des campagnes conflictuelles ou controversées. On m'a dit que ma propre histoire personnelle était un obstacle et une gêne pour Sea Shepherd à l'avenir et que la recherche scientifique et la diplomatie avec les gouvernements latino-américains seraient la priorité. Singh a annoncé la formation d'une nouvelle organisation financée par Sea Shepherd appelée Marine Protection Alliance afin qu'il puisse approcher les gouvernements pour permettre la coopération sans être entaché par mon implication.

J'ai dit au Conseil que je ne pouvais pas soutenir ni participer à ce changement de direction. Pritam Singh m'a alors informé que j'étais simplement un employé, pas un membre du conseil d'administration et que je devais faire ce qu'on me disait.

Il m'a grondé devant le Conseil en disant que je lui devais le soutien qu'il m'avait apporté. J'ai répondu que la gratitude ne pouvait pas être remboursée par la soumission et l'abandon de tout ce que j'avais créé.

Il a dit tant pis, il avait le contrôle total de Sea Shepherd, et je devrais me considérer chanceux d'avoir un travail avec un salaire confortable.

J'ai répondu que je ne serais pas une figure de proue rémunérée impuissante de l'organisation que j'ai créée. J'ai demandé à Pritam Singh sa démission qu'il avait une fois promise si je n'étais pas d'accord avec lui. Il a dit que cela n'arriverait pas.

J'ai dit que je démissionnerais et que je continuerais à travailler en tant que directeur de Sea Shepherd Global pour continuer ce que je faisais depuis quatre décennies. Il m'a informé qu'il y avait deux de ses avocats à la réunion et ils m'ont informé que je ne pouvais pas utiliser le nom que j'ai créé ou les logos que j'ai conçus et que je ne pouvais pas rivaliser avec Sea Shepherd USA, je ne pouvais pas contacter les supporters ni communiquer avec le personnel ou les administrateurs.

Après m'avoir exclu de la réunion, le conseil d'administration a voté la révocation des deux administrateurs qui m'avaient soutenu.

En juillet 2022, j'ai démissionné de Sea Shepherd USA et je me suis préparé à continuer à travailler avec Sea Shepherd Global.

Peu de temps après ma démission et à mon insu en tant que directeur de Sea Shepherd Global, Alex Cornelissen a conclu un accord avec Pritam Singh et Sea Shepherd US pour travailler en partenariat avec eux. Le directeur mondial Lamya Essemlali, le président de la France, n'a pas non plus été informé de cette décision.

Sans l'approbation du Conseil d'administration, Pritam Singh avait utilisé les fonds américains de Sea Shepherd pour enregistrer secrètement des marques pour le nom et les logos dans le monde entier. Avec ces marques, il a menacé Sea Shepherd Global de coopérer, sinon il les poursuivrait pour violation de marque.

Sans combattre, ils ont capitulé et ont accepté les demandes du US Sea Shepherd Board.

Le Septembre 1st, j'ai reçu un e-mail d'Alex Cornelissen m'informant que j'étais renvoyé du Conseil mondial. Lamya Essemlali et moi n'étions pas invités à une réunion du conseil d'administration pour une discussion ou un vote. J'ai simplement été congédié par Alex Cornelissen et ni lui, ni Jeff Hansen ou Peter Hammarstedt ne m'ont contacté ni répondu à aucun message de ma part depuis.

L'organisation que j'ai créée m'a mis à la ferraille tout comme ils ont mis à la ferraille nos navires.

Sur Novembre 15th le légendaire Bob Barker, le navire que j'avais acheté et commandé pendant de nombreuses années s'est échoué dans un parc à ferraille en Turquie.

S'ils avaient dû retirer le navire, ils auraient pu l'envoyer en mission aller simple aux îles Féroé, en Norvège ou en Islande pour défendre les baleines. Les îles Féroé avaient menacé de saisir tout navire de Sea Shepherd pour entrer dans leurs eaux. Cela aurait été une noble fin de carrière pour un si beau navire, générant une couverture médiatique et laissant la responsabilité de disposer du navire aux Féroïens.

L'un des capitaines de Sea Shepherd voulait emmener le navire en Espagne pour contester la défense du gouvernement espagnol contre la pêche illégale par des navires espagnols en haute mer. Les tribunaux espagnols avaient menacé Sea Shepherd de saisir tout navire de Sea Shepherd pénétrant dans leurs eaux. Cela aurait été un grave scandale controversé et une sacrée histoire. Mais au lieu de cela, Alex et Peter ont fait conduire le navire sur une plage d'une année de brisant pour être ignoblement découpé en ferraille.

Toutes les entités nationales de Sea Shepherd n'ont pas abandonné les stratégies et la direction éprouvées que j'ai établies avec Sea Shepherd.

Les groupes qui continuent de m'accompagner sont Sea Shepherd France, le Royaume-Uni, le Brésil, le Canada, l'Uruguay, la Hongrie, la Nouvelle-Calédonie et Tahiti. Les autres ont décidé de se soumettre bien que Sea Shepherd Suisse ait décidé sans surprise de rester sur la clôture.

À l'avenir, j'ai créé la Fondation Captain Paul Watson pour continuer dans les domaines où les groupes de Sea Shepherd se sont soumis à l'approche la plus médiocre. Ma Fondation a déjà sécurisé notre premier navire et travaille à la sécurisation d'un 2nd navire.

L'esprit de Sea Shepherd perdurera, en partie avec un nouveau nom, un nouveau drapeau et un nouveau logo. La tentative de me réduire au silence et de me marginaliser n'a servi qu'à me motiver à renouveler, réorganiser et reconstruire pour continuer à servir la vie et la diversité en mer.

En 1977, forcé de quitter Greenpeace de plus en plus bureaucratique, j'ai créé une nouvelle voie pour établir quelque chose de plus efficace, plus actif, plus conflictuel et plus controversé. Maintenant, j'ai été forcé de quitter un Sea Shepherd de plus en plus bureaucratique, une décision qui me permet maintenant de recréer une nouvelle approche plus efficace, plus active, plus conflictuelle et plus controversée qui est en fait la même approche que j'ai commencé avec cinquante il y a des années.

La vie dans l'océan a besoin que nous soyons intransigeants, agressifs et motivés par l'action pour exposer, bloquer, harceler, saboter et arrêter les opérations criminelles qui détruisent les écosystèmes océaniques, gaspillent tant de vie et diminuent la diversité.

Cliquez pour la Fondation Capitaine Paul Watson :

En savoir plus sur la marine de Neptune :

poster un commentaire

27+ = 29

Top

In 1971, I set out on a stormy November cruise from Vancouver, northward to a remote barren island called Amchitka in the Alaskan Aleutian archipelago.

By Captain Paul Watson, Founder – Sea Shepherd 1977.

The ship was called the Greenpeace Too and our objective was to stop a bomb. Not just any bomb, but a five-megaton nuclear bomb buried under the island, a test by the United States of an insane weapon of mass destruction, one more test in a series of test that had already killed thousands of seals, sea otters and fish from shock waves.

We failed to stop that test, but as a result of our intervention, all further underground tests in the Aleutians were banned and in 1972, I became a founding director of the Greenpeace Foundation.

In 1974, Robert Hunter, Dr. Paul Spong and I initiated the Greenpeace campaigns to protect whales and in 1975 and 1976 we confronted the Soviet whaling fleet in the North Pacific. In 1976 and 1977, David Garrick and I initiated the Greenpeace campaigns to protect harp and hood seals off the East Coast of Canada.

It was in 1975 when a wounded Sperm whale spared my life that I became forever committed to the cause of defending whales and dolphins and I vowed to myself to eradicate the evil of whaling in my lifetime.

It was in 1977 when to save the life of a baby harp seal, I pulled a club from a Newfoundland sealer’s hand, tossed the club into the sea, and carried the seal pup away from the man who wanted to kill it. For that one act, the Greenpeace Board of Directors voted me off the Greenpeace Board accusing me of theft (the sealer’s club) and vandalism (tossing it into the sea). They said I needed to apologize to the sealer. I replied that was something I could not do and if the situation rose again, I would do the exact same thing.

In response to my dismissal, I established the Sea Shepherd Conservation Society with the strategy of aggressive nonviolence. I intended to intervene, to obstruct, to harass and to sabotage illegal whalers, sealers, fishing operations, turtle poachers and shark finners.

I considered my dismissal from Greenpeace to be one of the best things to ever happen to me. If not for that I would not have established Sea Shepherd.

In 1979, I hunted down the pirate whaler Sierra, rammed and disabled the ship and after repairs, we sank it in Lisbon Harbor. In 1986, we sank half the Icelandic whaling fleet and shut down their illegal operations for 17 years.

These were the kind of actions that I created Sea Shepherd to do, and it was what we continued to do until 2013, including driving the Japanese whaling fleet out of the Southern Ocean Whale Sanctuary.

In 2012, I was detained in Germany on an extradition request by Costa Rica for intervening against an illegal Costa Rican shark finning operation. My intervention had been requested by the government of Guatemala. I was arrested in Costa Rica twice, first for attempted homicide and then for attempted assault on the word of the fishermen. Twice the charges were dropped after the court reviewed the film evidence of the encounter filmed by Rob Stewart for his documentary Sharkwater. I was given clearance to leave Costa Rica but ten years later I was arrested in Germany 2012 on an extradition request by Costa Rica for the charge of “shipwreck endangerment.”

While being held in Germany, Japan filed an extradition request for conspiracy to trespass on a whaling ship and this forced me to flee Germany without papers, to cross the North Atlantic, to cross North America to rejoin one of our ships to voyage to American Samoa where I reboarded my flagship the Steve Irwin to once again, confront the Japanese whaling fleet in the Southern Ocean.

In response to my jumping bail in Germany, Japan issued an Interpol Red Notice against me. The Red Notice is used to stop serial killers, major drug traffickers and war criminals. There has never been a Red Notice issued for trespassing until my case. Costa Rica followed with a Red Notice issued against me for shipwreck endangerment.

This forced me into exile in the South Pacific for 10 months until I was allowed to return to the United States by then Secretary of State John Kerry.

The Japanese Red Notice was based on a plea deal by Pete Bethune whose vessel the Ady Gil was cut in half by a Japanese harpoon vessel in 2010. Bethune had been charged with trespassing. He made a deal with the Japanese prosecutor that if he accused me of ordering him to board the ship, they would give him a suspended sentence in return for charging me with conspiracy to trespass.

This created a crisis within Sea Shepherd when the then Board of Directors became frightened that they would be sued by Japan and voted to disallow me to return to my Board.

In response to this, one of our supporters, a Florida property developer named Pritam Singh came to my aid and helped to remove the directors opposing me. Alex Cornelissen also organized Sea Shepherd Global, and Sea Shepherd became a movement with separate entities in numerous countries.

Pritam Singh also assisted in getting permission for me to return to the USA without fear of extradition to Japan. Singh managed to secure an affidavit from Pete Bethune where Bethune stated that he lied about my ordering him to board the harpoon ship in exchange for the suspended sentence. This resulted in Secretary of State John Kerry allowing me to return to the U.S. Japan however refused to drop the charge.

As such I was appreciative and grateful for his assistance. I mistakenly assumed I could trust him and naively I failed to notice as he played the long game of marginalizing me and appointing his own people to the Board of Directors.

I was the CEO of Sea Shepherd USA from 2016 until 2019. During that time, I initiated the campaign to protect the Vaquita porpoise in Mexico called Operation Milagro. I also initiated Operations Virus Hunter to oppose salmon farms in Canada, Operation Jairo to protect sea-turtles, Operation Treasured Islands to protect Cocos and Malpelo Islands and the Galapagos, Operation Good Pirates of the Caribbean to assist the Caribbean Islands after the hurricanes, Operation Marachopa to stop illegal fishing off Peru and Operation Clean Waves to restore coral reefs and collect plastic in Kiribati. I had excellent and reliable Captains with Oona Layolle, Patricia Gabdolfo Castinera and Locky MacLean and we had hard working courageous crewmembers.

In 2017, Pritam Singh joined the Sea Shepherd U.S. Board and his business skills were quite helpful. In 2019 Pritam Singh informed me that the Board could not get director’s insurance because of my Red Notice status. He requested that I officially resign from the Board but that I could still participate in meetings. He said that I could trust him and if he ever did anything I disagreed with, all I would need to do was to request his resignation.

I argued that Costa Rica had dropped their Red Notice against me, but Singh argued that the Japanese Red Notice still presented a problem. I said that I did not need legal insurance and Singh countered by saying my being on the Board would still be a threat to all the other directors.

So quite naively, I agreed. My resignation was followed by the firing of people important to me like two Sea Shepherd captains and my own personal assistant. When I protested, I was informed that the Board had voted to remove these people and that there was nothing I could do about it.

Firing Captain Locky MacLean was illogical. On October 25th, 2019, he had just negotiated and signed a Convenio with Mexico’s Semarnat and Profepa (Federal Environmental Prosecutor’s office) that gave Sea Shepherd a mandate to collect nets inside the zero tolerance area of the Vaquita Refuge.

Also mystifying was the firing of my assistant Omar Todd. Omar had just negotiated a one-million-dollar contribution to Sea Shepherd but instead of thanking him, they accused him of not going through the proper channels to get the donation.

In 2019, Pritam Singh hired Sea Shepherd Global director Alex Cornelissen to be the CEO of Sea Shepherd US. He also hired Peter Hammerstedt to be director of campaigns.

I thought this was a good thing. I trusted both these men and I felt comfortable even though Peter Hammerstedt was replacing Captain MacLean as the director for ships and campaigns. Peter was not a hands-on in the field director.

On December 31, 2020, during a confrontation in the Mexican Sea of Cortez an attacking panga with two Molotov cocktail throwing fishermen collided with the Sea Shepherd ship Farley Mowat. One of the fishermen was killed.

The fault was the two fishermen but for 44 years, not a single person had ever been injured during a Sea Shepherd campaign. Within a year of my being replaced we saw the first casualty.

Pritam Singh then re-negotiated the agreement that Captain Locky MacLean had signed with Mexico. The new agreement forbade Sea Shepherd from pulling nets in the Vaquita Refuge.

I became even more concerned when I arrived at a meeting to discuss campaigns in early 2022. Peter Hammerstedt stepped out of the room before I could enter and asked that I not come in until they finished having a Zoom meeting with U.S. government representatives. When I asked why, Peter told me that if the government people saw me, it would have negative consequences for government partnerships. When I was allowed into the meeting it was to be introduced to new staff members to handle communications, outreach and ship management, none of whom had any experience with Sea Shepherd.

I was also told that I could not do any media interviews without approval of the new communications director and all my social media posts had to be approved before posting.

Sea Shepherd captains and crew were ordered to not communicate with me.

In April of 2022, both Peter and Alex resigned from their positions in protest over micro-management by Pritam Singh. They both told me they could not work with Pritam Singh and would never work with him again. This was followed by the resignation of Farrah Smith our Development director who also cited micro-management.

The Board was making decisions without my knowledge or input including the selling of our ship the Brigitte Bardot and the scrapping of our ships John Paul DeJoria, Sharpie and White Holly.

In June 2022 I brought my concerns to the Board of Directors, a Board that now included people hand-picked to support Pritam Singh and to oppose me. There were only two directors that supported me.

At the meeting in June, Pritam Singh announced that Sea Shepherd would be changing course and would no longer be involved in confrontational or controversial campaigns. I was told that my own personal history was an obstacle and an embarrassment to Sea Shepherd going forward and making scientific research and diplomacy with Latin American governments would be the priority. Singh announced the formation of a new organization funded by Sea Shepherd called Marine Protection Alliance so he could approach governments to allow cooperation without being tainted by my involvement.

I told the Board that I could not support nor participate in this change of direction. Pritam Singh then informed me that I was merely an employee, not a member of the Board and I had to do what I was told.

He scolded me before the Board saying I owed him for the support he gave me. I replied that gratitude could not be repaid by submission and the surrender of all that I had created.

He said too bad, he had complete control of Sea Shepherd, and I should consider myself lucky to have a job with a comfortable salary.

I replied that I would not be an impotent paid figurehead of the organization I created. I asked Pritam Singh for his resignation that he once promised if I disagreed with him. He said that was not going to happen.

I said that I would quit and carry on working as a director of Sea Shepherd Global to continue what I had been doing for the last four decades to which he informed me that there were two of his lawyers in the meeting and they informed me that I could not use the name I created or the logos I designed and that I could not compete with Sea Shepherd USA, I could not contact supporters nor communicate with staff or directors.

After they cut me off from the meeting, the Board voted to remove the two directors that supported me.

In July 2022, I resigned from Sea Shepherd USA and prepared to continue to work with Sea Shepherd Global.

Shortly after my resignation and unbeknownst to me as a director of Sea Shepherd Global, Alex Cornelissen made an agreement with Pritam Singh and Sea Shepherd US to work in partnership with them. Global Director Lamya Essemlali the President of France was also not informed of this decision.

Without Board approval, Pritam Singh had used Sea Shepherd U.S. funds to covertly register trademarks for the name and logos around the world. With those trademarks he threatened Sea Shepherd Global with cooperation, or he would sue them for trademark violations.

Without a fight they capitulated and agreed to the demands of the U.S. Sea Shepherd Board.

On September 1st, I received an email from Alex Cornelissen informing me that I was dismissed from the Global Board. Lamya Essemlali and I were not invited to a board meeting for a discussion or a vote. I was simply dismissed by Alex Cornelissen and neither he nor Jeff Hansen or Peter Hammarstedt have contacted me or responded to any messages from me since.

The organization that I created was scrapping me just as they scrapped our ships.

On November 15th, the legendary Bob Barker, the ship that I had purchased and commanded for many years was beached in a scrap yard in Turkey.

If they needed to retire the ship, they could have sent it on a one-way mission to the Faroe Islands, to Norway or Iceland to defend whales. The Faroes had threatened to seize any Sea Shepherd ship to enter their waters. That would have been a noble end to the career of such a fine vessel, generating media coverage and leaving the responsibility to dispose of the ship with the Faroese.

One of the Sea Shepherd captains wanted to take the ship to Spain to challenge the Spanish government’s defense of illegal fishing by Spanish ships on the high seas. The Spanish courts had threatened Sea Shepherd with the seizure of any Sea Shepherd ship that entered their waters. That would have been a serious controversial scandal and one hell of a story. But instead, Alex and Peter had the ship driven up on a beach of a breaker’s year to be ignobly cut up for scrap.

Not all the Sea Shepherd national entities have abandoned the tried-and-true strategies and direction that I established with Sea Shepherd.

The groups that continue to stand with me include Sea Shepherd France, the U.K., Brazil, Canada, Uruguay, Hungary, New Caledonia, and Tahiti. The others have decided to submit although Sea Shepherd Switzerland has decided unsurprisingly to sit on the fence.

Going forward I have established the Captain Paul Watson Foundation to carry on in those areas where Sea Shepherd groups have submitted to the more mediocre approach. My Foundation has already secured our first ship and working on securing a 2nd ship.

The spirit of Sea Shepherd will carry on, in part with a new name, a new flag and a new logo. The attempt to silence and marginalize me has only served to motivate me to renew, re-organize and rebuild to carry on serving life and diversity in the sea.

In 1977, being forced out of increasingly bureaucratic Greenpeace, I created a new path to establishing something more effective, more active, more confrontational, and more controversial. Now I have been forced out of an increasingly bureaucratic Sea Shepherd, a move that now allows me to once again recreate a more effective, more active, more confrontational, and more controversial new approach which is in fact the same approach that I began with fifty years ago.

Life in the Ocean needs us to be uncompromising, aggressive, and motivated by action to expose, to block, to harass, sabotage and shut down the criminal operations destroying oceanic eco-systems, wasting so much life, and diminishing diversity.

Click for Captain Paul Watson Foundation:

Learn about Neptune's Navy:

Comments:

  • Arbutus T Swindell

    January 13, 2023

    Its almost like this Singh guy is a Japanese plant or another Elon Musk type of rich guy who thinks he knows better than the rest of us.
    Anyone that gets involved with Sea Shepherd knows what they are getting into so if the board of directors were getting nervous they all should have resigned and let people with guts take their place.
    Turning Sea Shepherd into another Greenpeace just creates competition for a small pot of donor money and it sounds like a sham to me. Maybe this Singh guy is laundering money through Sea Shepherd. Maybe Singh is working with the whalers, who knows!
    One thing is for certain, like him or not, Paul Watson is good at what he does and his approach is needed. We are at the end of the road for the ocean and the world and it takes all kinds of eco groups to fight this never ending battle with corrupt countries and corporations that treat the planet like its their personal sewer and killing ground.
    The Sea Shepherd name has now been ruined by Singh and his minions. Once the world understands this Paul Watson will easily get the world on his side and Sea Shepherd will vanish. Ive seen this happen before with another great group in my state.
    My only worry is who has the guts and charisma to take over for Paul Watson when he is gone?
    Good luck and fair sailing to you Paul Watson. Most of us are all on board with you!

    reply...
  • January 14, 2023

    Sea shepherd was lost when Paul Watson let go of the reigns.

    reply...
  • Kristen

    January 14, 2023

    I know many wonderful people who worked for Sea Shepherd and left due to Pritam Singh and David Hance, so I’m glad to hear Paul is finally speaking out about them. It is really sad that so many people who were committed to direct action are staying with Sea Shepherd even though it sounds like they are abandoning that approach. What is Singh’s end game, I wonder?

    reply...
  • January 14, 2023

    There is only ONE Commander I recognize as the Leader of Sea Shepherd and that is Captain Paul Watson. Now that he has the Foundation under his name as well as Sea Shepherd Origines and the remains of Sea Shepherd Global, I guess he carries the title Admiral Paul Watson. I prefer to Defend Conserve Protect than what Singh professes Watch Wait Whine. Paul Watson is and always shall be the Founder and Spirit of Sea Shepherd under any board of directors – you can take, you can’t hold what was born free.

    reply...

post a comment

70 − 63 =

Professional pet grooming kit | rechargeable, steel-cut, & more.
The Howler Magazine